Home » 23 Imo APC lawmakers-elect receive certificates of return from INEC

23 Imo APC lawmakers-elect receive certificates of return from INEC

by OkeomaNews

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Thursday issued Certificates of Return to 23 Imo State House of Assembly lawmakers -elect, all of the All Progressives Congress.

The event which held at the INEC state secretariat in Owerri, saw the activities being a one party affair, as the state chairman of APC, MacDonald Ebere, his predecessor, Marcon  Nlemigbo, the Chief Of Staff to the state governor, Nnamdi Anyaehie, and other state Government functionaries, APC chieftains and supporters being present.

The Administrative Secretary of INEC in the state, Jude Okwuonu, said that the commission was grateful to all stakeholders who assisted the electoral umpire in conducting the election in the state.

He said that by the provision of the Electoral Act, the commission must issue certificates of return to those elected by their people within 14 days from the date of declaration of results.

While 23 lawmakers -elect were  issued Certificates of Return, nothing was said about four remaining state Constituency of Ahiazu Mbaise, Isu, Ideato North and Ideato South state Constituencies.

On inquiry, no member of the commission agreed to divulge information on way the four state Constituencies were exempted from the presentation of the certificates of return.

The lawmaker – elect for Mbaitoli LGA, Innocent Ikpamezie, told journalists that he was in hurry to deliver the dividends of democracy to his constituents.

He said that the election that brought him to power was free and credible, disclosing that he won in 11 out of 12 Electoral wards in the LGA.

The lawmakers -elect for Orsu, Uche Agabiga, his Oru West counterpart, Dominic Ezerioha, and Ohaji Egbema LGA, Uzoma Osuoha, said that they were in a hurry to deliver the dividends of democracy to their people.

They urged their opponents who had approached Election petition tribunals to withdraw their petitions and join them in moving their LGAs forward.

You may also like

Leave a Comment